Disability Health and Wellbeing – NDIS

What is the NDIS?

The NDIS, National Disability Insurance Scheme, is a new way of supporting people with a permanent and significant disability.

It’s a single national system to provide targeted support and better coordination and access to services if your disability affects your ability to take part in everyday activities. The NDIS is a national no fault insurance scheme designed to change the way that disability services are delivered in Australia.

Who will It Support?

The NDIS is expected to provide funding to around 460,000 Australians once it is fully rolled out across Australia. Assistance from the NDIS is not means tested and has no impact on income support such as the disability support pension and carers’ allowance.

It aims to support:

People with a permanent disability, their family and carers, by funding reasonable and necessary support for each person’s unique needs Other community, health and social services, by ensuring people are connected to the right services All Australians, by providing a safety net for anyone who acquires a disability in the future

Who will Be Eligible?
Disability Eligibility

The aim of the NDIS is to support people with significant and permanent disability, and to take into account the circumstances of families and carers as well as the person with disability. To access the NDIS you will need to meet the following criteria:

  • Live in an NDIS trial site or transition area
  • Have a permanent disability that reduces your ability to participate effectively in activities or perform tasks that affect your capacity for social and economic participation
  • You are likely to require support under the NDIS for a lifetime

You must also be:
  • An Australian citizen
  • Or the holder of a Permanent Visa or a Protected Special Category Visa
  • Be aged under 65
Early Childhood Intervention

Children under 6 years of age will be assessed against the NDIS criteria for early intervention. This assumes that there is some capacity to develop skills with the right services and supports delivered at the right time. If children require ongoing support across their lifetime they can transition into the disability stream of the NDIS. A child under 6 years of age may meet the Early Childhood Intervention criteria if they have a developmental delay which results in:

  • substantially reduced functional capacity in one or more of the areas of self-care, receptive and expressive language, cognitive, development or motor development, and
  • results in the need for a combination and sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic care, treatment or other services which are of extended duration, and are individually planned and coordinated, and
  • those supports are most appropriately funded through the NDIS, and not through another service system

What is the NDIA?

The NDIA, National Disability Insurance Agency, is the independent body responsible for allocating the funding and making the rules about the new way that disability support will be provided. Plan support coordinators, commonly referred to as ‘Planners’, will work with people with disability and their planning partners to:
  • Develop a plan based on goals and outcomes
  • Agree on the reasonable and necessary support that will go into plans
  • Support participants to make decisions about how plans will work

When is the NDIS happening in Cairns & Far North Queensland?

The NDIS is happening already in Australia however NDIS will not roll-out in Cairns and Far North Queensland until July 2018.

Health Reimagined will be a registered and approved provider for the NDIS scheme in Far North Queensland. You can choose to nominate us as your service provider when you are completing your support plan. How do I find out if I am Eligible? The NDIS have developed an online tool to find out if you meet the criteria for NDIS funding.

What is an NDIS Plan?

Everyone who transitions onto the NDIS is required to develop a plan. An NDIS plan outlines a person’s needs and goals, and the disability related services and supports that need to be funded to achieve those goals. Every plan is different and will have goals which are matched to support categories. Each category included in the plan will have a budget to purchase supports.

Funding Categories

There are three categories of funding called Capital, Core and Capacity Funded Support with 14 subcategories:

Capital funded supports
  • Equipment and assistive technology
  • House modifications
  • Vehicle modifications
Core funded supports
  • Assistance with daily life at home, in the community, education and at work
  • Transport to access daily activities
  • Supported independent living
Capacity building funded support for support to learn and build skills
  • Improved daily living skills
  • Improved living arrangements
  • Increased community and social participation
  • Finding and keeping a job
  • Improved relationships
  • Improved health and wellbeing
  • Improved learning
  • Improved life choices


Health Reimagined Disability Health and Wellbeing Team

Phone :(07) 4044 8900
Fax:(07) 3036 6621
Feedback & Complaints:feedback@ndis.gov.au